Top Ten Friday’s: Godzilla Kaiju.

HEAR THEM ROAR!!!

HEAR THEM ROAR!!!

Welcome everyone to the first ever Top Ten Fridays!!! Now originally this was gonna my day to write whatever the hell I wanted but I decided to just make this a simple Top Ten about whatever the hell I want. I know that many websites have centered their entire theme around the idea of lists and blah blah blah. I don’t care this is my opinion and that’s what makes these list special. So how do we start off this first Top Ten? Well with Godzilla and friends!!! I can’t even begin to describe how much Godzilla has influenced my childhood. Thanks to my grandpa I would watch old Toho Godzilla movies all day long and after he passed my grandma would help me continue this love affair. I want to stress that this isn’t a end all be all to Godzilla Kaiju but rather a simple list of my favorites.

#10 Mothra Butterfly form

mothravsgodzilla

For #10 we have our fiendiesh mutated butterfly in Mothra. I simply love the overall design for Mothra and most of the other monsters are simply one color scheme, so it’s refreshing to see such a vibrant pattern in a monster fight movie.  Plus I’ve always loved the idea of flight and I loved seeing how Godzilla deals with this winged menace, plus creating hurricane winds with your wings is pretty awesome

#9 King Caesar

download

For #9 is King Caesar. My first Godzilla movie was Godzilla Vs. Mecha Godzilla and it goes without saying that I was hooked. While King Caesar is possibly the most plain and unremarkable looking of this list but the build up towards him was amazing in my opinion.  I love King Caesar simply because of sheer will when fighting a opponent who out matches him in every way. Show some love for King Caesar everybody!!

#8 Rodan

rodan

Coming in at #8 is the fearsome Rodan!!! While this iteration of Rodan can come off as boring to others and Rodan lacks the color scheme of Mothra, there is simply something cool about his wing span and just imagining Rodan tear buildings apart with the sheer force that his wings create is awesome. While I’ve only seen one Godzilla Vs. Rodan fight, it was interesting to see how Godzilla deals with a foe whose only weapon is his wings. Drink one for Rodan!!

#7 King Ghidorah

King_Ghidorah_91

Clocking in a #7 is our three headed friend from space, King Ghidorah!!! I first saw this awesome monster in Godzilla Vs. Gigan and I could not help but be amazed on how cool he was. I love that he is covered in Gold, emphasizing the King part of his name and a the idea of a twisted crown on each of it’s head is just icing on the cake.  I loved how scattered his thunderbolts were, they never really hit their targets. When King Ghidorah hits the battlefield, you know some bad things are gonna occur.

#6 Anguirus

anguirus-rox

At #6 is the tough and ready to rumble Anguirus. To put it simply, I love Anguirus for several reasons, first off I love his design. It comes off as a “don’t mess with me simply because I’m smaller.” and yet each time Anguirus usually ends up pulling through in the end (except for the time that he had his jaw ripped off…) but to me Anguirus is a never say die Kaiju and he doesn’t care how big you are. Finally his attack of burrowing and hurling his back of spikes towards you is just a great visual. Never count out Anguirus!!

#5 Gigan

Original_Gigan_1972

Entering in at #5 is the amalgam known as Gigan. I’m pretty sure that Gigan was just a compilation of things that they thought the kids would like or that simply looked cool. The sheer randomness should be a clusterfuck but to me it isn’t, Gigan is a wonderful looking Kaiju of death. Gigan also is the only monster that made Godzilla actually bleed, I cringed whenever his stomach saw started to churn and looked away when he was stabbing Godzilla.

#4 Hedorah

hedorah

At #3 we I chose Hedorah THE SMOG MONSTER. This is perhaps the most unique looking monster I have ever seen. While he isn’t the most memorable to many I certainly remember him. I just love how Hedorah’s own body is also an offensive capablity, plus having laser eyes can’t hurt either. While Hedorah is the most ugly looking, that doesn’t take away from a cool and unique design.

#3 Mecha Godzilla

mechag1

And now we enter the top 3, with Mechagodzilla making his presence known at #3.  While I love all the Godzilla movies respectively the movie that received the most attention was Godzilla Vs. Mechagodzilla. As a kid growing up MechaG scared the crap out of me, and for the longest time I believed that he was the only one who could actually defeat the G man (although Godzilla turning into a Magnet nullified that). His arsenal is just so badass, what kid wouldn’t want laser eyes, rocket fingers and least off all jet boots, plus having his head spin 360 was just a nifty idea. Fear Mechagodzilla!!

#2 Destroyah

DestFinal5

and now at #2 we have DESTROYAH!! Now I had no idea who this guy was until two years ago. The last time I saw prior to Godzilla Vs. Destroyah was was Destroy all Monsters and that was 2002. I simply love how his origin is tied into the original 1954 Godzilla film, it was a nice subtle touch in my opinion. Now similar to Gigan, I love Destroyah because of the “whatever sticks” method they took during the initial creation of Destroyah. Finally I love how freaking huge he actually his when in comparison to Godzilla and Godzilla junior. However even though Destroyah is awesome, he still doesn’t top #1.

#1 Godzilla

19082

Yes I know this is perhaps the most cliche #1 that anybody has posted on the internet, but I’m sorry you do not do better than Godzilla himself. His roar alone is perhaps one of the most iconic sounds in cinema history, that alone says something. While his power set isn’t really that remarkable, his fire breath is just pure awesomesauce. I love how his origin is tied to the atomic bomb, kinda symbolizing the chaos America brought to Japan in a physical form. It goes without saying that Godzilla and friends have influenced my taste as a kid and I hope to see more of the G man and co real soon.  Thanks for reading!!

Posted on September 14, 2013, in Top Ten Fridays. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

The Secret Life of Pandas

I've tripped going up stairs, but hasn't everyone? No? Oh.

The Mighty Warriors Three Marvel Podcast

Kickin' all sorts of Asgard!!

Bloodcruze

While he gropes himself with eunuch fists, I sow my sole into his teeth and finger him for cash.

