Iggy’s World: Top Five Favorite Games for 2014

Year-20142014 has come and gone and over the past several week I’ve spent time thinking about the year in video games. It’s certainly been a polarizing year surrounding the gaming industry, regardless of what side you’re on. However with all the mocking of the glitches and fighting over should or should not be in a game, I saw less of why games are great and why we all enjoy them as a media. So this isn’t a list I would call the “best” of 2014 but rather these are the games I had the most fun with. I do apologize for the lack of Bayonetta 2, it’s getting a full review soon. Read on to enjoy more!

#5 Bravely Default

bravely_default_flying_fairy_02

I’m a huge fan of JRPG’s and I was ecstatic to see Square Enix return to the classic four player turn based system. The best aspect of this game is the job system and how customizable it is, giving the player the choice on how they want to play the game. The story, while it starts out as basic morphs into something I didn’t see coming, that and the games beautiful art direction makes Bravely Default one my personal favorites of 2014.

#4 Mario Kart 8

MarioKart8Boxart

It’s easy to say that Mario Kart is good because it’s Mario Kart but the eight installment of this franchise is the best yet. Not only do all the tracks look amazing, but controlling each individual vehicle is vastly improved from Mario Kart Wii. The icing in the cake being the best case of DLC ever in recent memories, expanding the games life cycle for sure. If you own a Wii U but not Mario Kart, then just ask yourself “what am I doing with my life?” Battle mode is terrible and such a let down.

#3 Hyrule Warriors

TM_WiiU_HyruleWarriors

I’m personally a bit shocked that Hyrule Warriors is this high on the list, given my previous distaste of the Dynasty Warriors franchise. Yes this just a DW game with a Zelda skin but it’s uses of said skin can make converts out of people, namely Zelda fans. While the action can be mindless, from a visual standpoint it’s eye candy to any one who plays it. Hyrule Warriors is a love letter to the Zelda franchise and it’s simple but fun game play is the reason why it’s at the #3 spot.

#2 Super Smash Bros

image_321630_620

Is is really a shock that this is at the number two spot? To some it might but that doesn’t take away the amazing game Sakurai and his team created here. Not only is the online function great but there is still a great single player campaign (except Smash Tour) that and being able to customize your “main” into how you want them to control and fight, what more could anybody ask for? Now when is out Mew Two DLC coming out?

#1 Shovel Knight

shovel-knight-pc-torrent-download1

Out of all the games I played this year, Shovel Knight was the game that made me smile from start to finish. While Shovel Knight is a throw back to the 8 and 16 bit era, the player isn’t required to have lived in that era to appreciate this game. It homages but forges it’s own identity, which is the ideal situation. Even the music manages to be not only atmospheric but also extremely catchy, I’ve caught myself humming several songs while waiting for the bus. The cherry on the top was the story and how minimalist it was and still tugged at heart strings during appropriate moments. Now that this wonderful indy gem is coming to Sony platforms next year, more people will be able to experience the fantastic game and my personal favorite of 2014, Shovel Knight.

If you’re still here thank you for reading and if you have your own personal top five leave them in the comments below. I’m always interested to see other people’s favorites. Until my next review have a great 2015 everybody!

Posted on January 17, 2015, in Iggy's World and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

The Secret Life of Pandas

I've tripped going up stairs, but hasn't everyone? No? Oh.

The Mighty Warriors Three Marvel Podcast

Kickin' all sorts of Asgard!!

Bloodcruze

While he gropes himself with eunuch fists, I sow my sole into his teeth and finger him for cash.

